When someone is arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in the State of Florida they can face serious consequences. A conviction can result in charges of a misdemeanor or felony and a fines of $5,000 or more. That’s why it’s important to work with an experienced DUI law firm like Harris Guidi Rosner, P.A.
First Offense vs. Second Offense
The consequences are worse for a person found guilty of multiple DUI offenses. A first DUI conviction can result in fines between $500 and $1,000, while a second DUI conviction can result in a fine between $1,000 and $2,000, or more. If the court sentences someone to jail time for a DUI, the first conviction could mean potential jail time up to 6 months, and a second DUI conviction could mean potential jail time up to 9 months.
Will my license be suspended from a DUI?
It’s possible that your license is suspended for a DUI. Under Florida law, a first DUI conviction may result in the suspension of a driver’s license for at least 180 days, and up to 1 year. A second DUI conviction that occurs within 5 years of a first DUI conviction can mean the revocation of a driver’s license for a period of 5 years. The impact of losing one’s license is big, so it’s important to hire an experienced attorney who can give you the best chance at keeping your driving privileges.
When do drivers get an Ignition Interlock Device?
A person convicted of a first or second DUI may be required to install an ignition interlock device in order to maintain their driving privileges. While the device must be installed at the driver’s expense, this may be the best option since it allows the driver to continue using their vehicle as normal. If the court decides to allow an individual to keep their driver’s license after a first DUI conviction, and that individual had a breath alcohol level higher than 0.08 but lower than 0.15 when they were breathalyzed, the court may mandate that the driver install an ignition interlock device in order to keep their driving privileges. However, if the driver had a breath alcohol level of higher than 0.15, the driver must install an ignition interlock device for a period of 6 continuous months.
If you are in need of an experienced DUI defense attorney, or you have further questions, contact Harris Guidi Rosner, P.A.
- 3 Things to Expect with a DUI in Florida - January 18, 2022
- When Is Best Time To Hire A Workers’ Compensation Attorney? - September 24, 2021
- Benefits of Hiring A Private Criminal Defense Attorney - September 22, 2021